Work Practice Career Advice Spotlight: Matt Carmichael

  1. When was the first minute Journalism came up on your mind?

It’s hard to say exactly when, but I spent many hours of my youth fixed to ABC radio or watching the cricket on TV, taking in every word and detail.  I also remember the pride of writing match reports for my primary school rugby league teams and being made the ‘sport reporter’ for our school newspaper project in grade 4.  There was also the thrill of reading out the sport results on school assembly around grade 3 or 4 too.

The big moment that had me convinced was during an English class in grade 10 at Brisbane State High School.  Neil Breen visited our class and spoke to us about sport journalism and that was it for me.  Breenie was the sport editor of the Courier-Mail then and is now a great mate.

  1. What was your first few minutes when you get to report and present news?

I studied at QUT in Brisbane and we were lucky to have a proper nightly news bulletin that operated in the exact same way as 7 and 9 News.  One of my first stories was unfortunately covering the Bali bombing and return of injured Australians to Brisbane.  This was very tough, but taught great lessons.

My first job was as a newspaper reporter at the Bundaberg News-Mail.  My first stories were covering the local races on Melbourne Cup day, 2002.

For 7 – my first story was on the Boyd family.  Ray and Denise competed in Olympics in Track and Field.  We did a story on them and their three children who were starting in athletics.  Alana went on to become an Olympian and Commonwealth champion in pole vault.

The first time presenting sport was in the studio at Maroochydore, where we present the news bulletins for all of 7’s local news in Queensland.  Absolutely nerve-wracking, but a thrill too.  The key to improving is watching yourself back and doing self-criticism.  I hate watching myself and perhaps could be much better at it if I did this more.

  1. How was it like when you get to travel places all over Australia and the world when you get to report and talk important sports events that reflect both australia and the world (even on vacation!)

Honestly, this was the big reason that got me interested and I’ve been very lucky to travel to some great and interesting places all for work.  And places you would never get a chance to visit otherwise.

Riyadh, Saudi Arabia was the strangest and it turned out to be one of the most memorable, when the Wanderers won the Asian Champions League final in 2015.

The Beijing Olympics were incredible and this year’s Paralympics in Rio was my favourite event to cover of all.

It really is a great privilege of the job and I cherish every chance to do it.  We meet great people and discover the great regard that Australians have earned as professionals in our field.

The travel is much less these days with new technology and costs.  Mainly restricted to the big events.  So you appreciate the chances and make the most of them.

There’s a lot of work and not much else – normally 15-20 hour days for up to a month straight.  It’s definitely not all glamour and leisure that’s for sure – but all worth every second.

  1. Who do you go for in NRL, AFL and other sports such as EPL, NBA, NFL, etc?

My favourite NRL team is the Cowboys.  I grew up in Brisbane, but supported Wynnum-Manly (my local team) before the Broncos began in 1988.  I was turned off the Broncos when they sacked Wally Lewis, my hero, in 1990!

My first stint covering the NRL was in Townsville and the Cowboys club and players really looked after me – I’ve always had a soft spot for them ever since.

In AFL – it’s the Brisbane Lions my home team – and I really like the Swans, a great club of great people.

With the overseas sports, I’ve never had a reason to grow an attachment to any of them and I find the constant changes in players makes it hard to stick with a team.  I like to follow the Aussies and other players I like.  Patty Mills is my favourite.

  1. As a sports journalist, why is women talking sports important when it comes to sports coverage and fan base in Australia?

Because sport is for everybody and gender should never matter.

My mum taught me how to play cricket – spent hundreds of hours throwing me balls in the nets and teaching me how to bat.  Mum’s an expert and can see what’s happening with a unique perspective.  Why shouldn’t women write, report and commentate?

My fiancee has never played rugby league and doesn’t even like it that much, but can see what’s unfolding and make sense out of what’s happening a lot more than a lot of my friends, who can fairly claim to be experts.

The involvement of all people of all gender and background is important to me and there should be more of it – it promotes inclusion and enriches sport as the most powerful force at bringing us all together in this country.

6.You occasionally present sport in the studio, how was the experience in the newsroom like in contrast when you report sport from on-site at (e.g. ANZ Stadium)?

My favourite part of the job is being out on the road, meeting and speaking to every kind of person.  The biggest thrill for me is writing and crafting stories that capture people’s attention and stay in their memory.  And I love doing live TV on location – anything can happen.  The studio is totally different, but just as good.  It’s very controlled. Timing has to be perfect.  There are a lot of lights. It’s quiet and you know a lot of people are watching and listening to everything you do.  Make-up, tie etc… not  comfortable!  But you have the chance to tell stories on live television!  I don’t care for my face being on TV, but really enjoy the aspect of the live storytelling and chance to ‘interact’ with the people watching these stories.

  1. Any hobbies and interests you do outside reporting and presenting sport?

I used to play a lot of sport – mainly rugby league, rugby, cricket, basketball, surfing, golf – but a few back surgeries stopped all that!

My other great interest is music.  I’ve built up a great collection of instruments since I was a young boy and love to play music.  I try to write and record a song each week, when work doesn’t get in the way!

I’ve recently taken up painting and found it to be a very challenging, yet relaxing activity and one I’m hooked on too.

  1. Who is your inspiration that propelled you to land your dream job?

There are a few.

Mum, for always encouraging me and teaching me the right way to go things.

Wally Lewis and Allan Border.  Ironically two of the toughest characters for journalists to deal with as sportsmen, but as a child, these two made me love sport and the stories that make it.

Pat Welsh.  The sport journalist I admired all through my youth, then became a great mentor and friend.

  1. Where do you see yourself in the future like five years from now and how will you tell other people who may like to land a sports reporting job like yours right now?

 In five years from now I’d like to be working on more live sport broadcasts and being involved from storytelling from that aspect.  I was thrilled to cover the Paralympic Games this year and do the trackside interviews at the athletics.  These athletes really impressed me and I will definitely focus on Paralympic sport in the future.

I tell any aspiring journalist the same thing – be honest with yourself, the people who’s stories you’re sharing and the people you’re telling them to.  Whether that’s breaking news or a profile/feature story.  Work with integrity and the job will be extremely rewarding.  It’s not easy to start out and the industry’s always in uncertain times, but if you want to do it, go for it!

Make your stories about the subject, not yourself.  Accuracy and attention to detail are the most vital aspects to remember.  And you get to where you’re going in your career by your own ability, hard work and integrity.

Matt Carmichael currently works at the Seven Network as a sports reporter/presenter on their news and sports divisions.

Twitter: https://twitter.com/mattcarmichael

Leave a comment